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MARIJUANA DISPENSARY DENSITY IN MISSOURI 

In 2018, medical cannabis use became legal in Missouri, and in 2022, recreational sales became 
legal. Medical cannabis sales decreased as recreational use was legalized. Since 2023, 
recreational sales have remained steady. 

  

Monthly Sales ($) 

Medical Sales 

Recreational Sales 

Q4-2020

$5.33M

Q1-2021

$24.30M

Q2-2021

$40.70M

Q3-2021

$65.73M

Q4-2021

$79.03M

Q1-2022

$83.96M

Q2-2022

$94.05M

Q3-2022

$101.05M

Q4-2022

$111.17M

Q1-2023

$100.91M

$165.21M

Q2-2023

$84.47M

$278.78M

Q3-2023

$66.11M

$293.87M

Q4-2023

$50.78M

$298.20M

Q1-2024

$46.10M

$301.77M

Q2-2024

$45.61M

$317.67M

Q3-2024

$44.24M

$322.93M

Medical Sales

Recreational Sales

Source: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, “Monthly Sales Dashboard”, 2024. The 
graph above was retrieved from 

 
here. Access the link for more information about cannabis sales.  

 

Because state law dictates only a set number of dispensary licenses may be issued, a lottery 
process is used to determine who may sell cannabis in Missouri. As part of the application 
process, each applicant must submit a voluntary plan to which describes how they might 
encourage participation in the cannabis industry in communities that “have been 
disproportionately impacted by marijuana prohibition”. Missouri law restricts the 
establishment of a cannabis dispensary within 1,000 feet of any existing elementary or 

 

 

https://health.mo.gov/safety/cannabis/stats.php


secondary school, child day-care center, or church. These laws affect the distribution of 
dispensaries in the state. The comprehensive law around recreational sales is located  here. 
 
Since legalization, cannabis dispensaries began appearing across the state, primarily in the 
metropolitan areas of Missouri, including the Saint Louis, Kansas City, Springfield, and Columbia 
regions.   
 
A three-county region around Saint Louis, including Saint Louis County (35), Saint Louis City 
(16), and Saint Charles County (15), has 66 dispensaries. A two-county region surrounding 
Kansas City, including Jackson County (28) and Clay County (10) , have 38 dispensaries. Because 
of these clusters of counties with large amounts of dispensaries, Saint Louis and Kansas City 
areas are the densest hubs for cannabis dispensaries in Missouri. 

 

Cannabis Dispensaries by County 

 

https://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=XIV%20%20%202&constit=y


Cannabis dispensary density, or the measurement of cannabis dispensaries per 10,000 
residents, was calculated according to county and shown in the following map. Calculating the 
density this way adjusts for population. 

 

 
Atchison (1.9), Pemiscot (1.9), Harrison (1.2), Adair (1.2), and Camden (1.2) counties all have 
between one and two cannabis dispensaries per 10,000 residents. 

Cannabis Dispensary Density Per 10,000 Residents by County 

 
 

Find more data like this, visit the Behavioral Health Epidemiological Workgroup at 
seow.dmh.mo.gov.   

 
Contact the Behavioral Health Epidemiological Workgroup: 

314.516.8412                                                
susan.bradford@mimh.edu 

Find more data at seow.dmh.mo.gov! 
 

http://www.seow.dmh.mo.gov/
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